PreK or Kindergarten?

So, the baby's born, what comes next? Discuss your postpartum and parenting concerns here.
mikeys mom

Re : PreK or Kindergarten?

Postby mikeys mom » Wed Mar 11, 638296 12:09 pm

I also agree with waiting. I feel lucky that my son was born in December and I didn't have to make that decision! My son that was born in July was not a preemie and there is a definite difference between the two.

ria

Postby ria » Fri Feb 28, 638296 10:43 pm

We struggled with this with our daughter (Nov. birthday but was born 2 months early) and went ahead and let her start Kindergarten. We have a Dec. 1 cut-off here in CA. Academically, she has met all of her benchmarks, but emotionally and socially she has struggled. She is smaller than her peers and is young, so we've decided to do Kindergarten again but at a different school. I truly believe there is no reason to rush a child through school unless he/she is ready both academically and socially. As a middle/high school teacher, I can't tell you how many of the younger boys and girls struggle when their peers develop before them, drive before them, etc. It's an individual decision for each family, but in my experience...waiting has seemed to be the best.

annes
Forum Moderator

Postby annes » Fri Feb 28, 638296 9:29 pm

Just chiming in, my son will be 5 in July and we decided last year to wait on kindergarten and start pre-K this coming fall. We are really happy with the decision so far. He was really not ready for pre-K last year, just not that interested in his letters, numbers etc... We would rather have him be a little older than his classmates going into Kindergarten, he's a little small and has some trouble sitting still. So for us, an extra year of getting ready for school is a good idea. Good Luck.

amiejo

Postby amiejo » Fri Feb 28, 638296 5:25 pm